Dream Job

When I was younger, my dream job was to be a clown. I loved the silliness of the things they wore and the way they made everyone laugh. I used to make my mom buy me clown clothes and wigs of all color. I had big floppy shoes and a nose you could squeeze like a big, fresh, ripe tomato. Even after I grew out of that “phase” (I was forced to), being a clown in the circus will always be my first answer when people ask me about my dream job. Indeed, one day I will run away and join the circus. To live amongst the carnies, although people speak of its misery, looks to me like the ideal place to be. How much fun would it be to know that you are in close proximity to lions and tigers. The anxiety of watching someone walk the tightrope or hopes that the contortionist makes it out of her box. Endless fortunes, popcorn, and cotton candy! It all sounds like a dream to me. I also enjoy the fact that many people are scared of clowns. One person may laugh but another person may run and hide, showing that the job is not just black and white, but can elicit all sorts of responses. Not to sound like crazy person, but there is slight joy in scaring someone, frightening them even for just a second. Circuses and carnivals can get very creepy, very fast but I bet I’d find comfort in the disturbia because mysteries are always fun. As a clown, I would think that there are adventures all around, especially being a place filled with so much action. In all practicality, the job is probably a lot more stressful than I’m making it out to be. I’ll never know until I take walk in someone else’s clown shoes. Thank you for taking the time to read this post. Until next time, my friends! Xoxo



Leave a comment

About Me

Hi! My name is Shania Staten and I am 22 year old artist. I was born and raised in New Brunswick, New Jersey and graduated from North Brunswick Township High School. I currently attend Rutgers University and will be graduating in January 2024 with a major in History and a double minor in Psychology and Education. I am a substitute teacher for the district of North Brunswick Township as well as a certified body piercer and tattoo artist apprentice. I do a lot of community service and activism, always finding ways to give back to my community.  Click Here to Read More.

Newsletter

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started